Haywood County Board of Election

HAYWOOD COUNTY BOARD OF ELECTIONS — From left are Howard Sorrells, Elizabeth Norris, Danny Davis, June Ray and Dave Miller.

Members of the Haywood County Board of Elections were sworn in Tuesday before the group gathered for it’s reorganizational meeting.

The members are equally divided between the two major political parties in the state and are nominated by party officials within each county. The chairman is from whichever party holds the governor’s office.

Since N.C. Gov. Roy Cooper is a Democrat, Danny Davis, who is also a Democrat, will again chair the board. He is a retired district court judge who was first appointed in 2019.

The two other Democrats on the board include June Ray, the former long-time Clerk of District Court in Haywood, and Howard Sorrells, a farmer in the Clyde area who has earned industry accolades. He served 20 years as the chief voting official at his polling place prior to his board appointment in 2019.

The Republican members include Elizabeth Norris and Dave Miller.

Norris has served on the board for eight years and has been both chairman and secretary during her tenure.

She spent 19 years as a business owner, taught at the high school and college level and was a child nutrition coordinator for 16 western counties for eight years.

Miller has served Wake County as an absentee vote counter, an Election Day precinct official, and Election Day Judge. He has held numerous positions for his party during past elections and served as a poll observer in Haywood County.

He worked for IBM for nine years before starting his own Computer Service Bureau.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Load comments

Thank you for reading!

Please purchase a subscription to read our premium content. If you have a subscription, please log in or sign up for an account on our website to continue.